“I despise what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it”

Quotation “Voltaire”

Yes this declaration, attributed to Voltaire, encapsulates that free speech is worth defending vigorously even when you hate what is being said. Our committment to free speech involves protecting the speech you don’t want to hear as well as the speech you do want to hear, otherwise it is not free speech. This principle is at the heart of democracy, a basic human right, and its protection is a mark of a civilised and tolerant society. 

Article 19 of the United Nations Universal Declaration of Human Rights and the First amendment to the US Constitution both explicitly recognise the need to protect free expression.

Then why are Family Courts in the UK so “SECRET”??  Why under the secret  guise of child protection are we expected to accept that a family court judge can prevent the reporting of or criticism of events that take place in a family court hearing?

It’s beyond me how they get away with it or why we  tolerate it without standing up for this basic right to freedom of speech.

Let me pose a question. Where is the abuse in this equation?

 A soldier is fatally injured in battle. His children and family are grieving at home and at some point receive counselling. Rightly so I hear you say. We hear about these tragic events every day on the news. Tragic, but the children are counselled.  In a family court an order is made that a father is not allowed to see or contact his children and only because a woman is allowed to practice “Parental Alienation” unchallenged and an unrecognised syndrome and practice here in the UK. The children don’t know where their father is or what happened to him. He just could not pick them up from school one day because of an order. The child gets no counselling, in fact the child was never told what happened to the father. The father is fighting tooth and nail to see his kids in the background, but his kids don’t know this. Where is the abuse?

I will tell you if you haven’t working this out yet. This is state sponsored, Family Court initiated child abuse. Child abuse put in place and condoned by UK Family Court Judges. 

On the 13th December 2010 I was summoned to Stoke on Trent County Court, an open county court I might add, so I can talk about this part of my nightmare. Although I’m sure it won’t do me any favors. Summoned to answer a charge of contempt. Contempt of court, because I was accused of breaking an order put in place in a family court but the hearing was heard in a county open court. Confused? yes so am 

I can’t discuss the goings on in the family court but I can discuss the contempt I faced in the open county court. Clear?

Anyway, I was accused of putting an article in a local newspaper about my family court matters (which I didn’t by the way) and I could prove it. However, that didn’t count for much in the eyes of the judge as he decided that even though I didn’t put it in the paper, I did acknowledge the article in my blog therefore I must be guilty of contempt. Yes I am still confused too. The eventual outcome was that I have been given 8 weeks suspended prison sentence for acknowledging the fact that an organisation wrote a story of my fight to contact my children, who I miss dearly, and they passed it onto the paper, without my knowledge I might add but because I read it and linked to it from my blog. I am guilty of contempt.

In other words you are guilty by association.

You have no control over what is being said, you distance yourself by asking them to remove it, you ask them to write to the court to explain that you had nothing to do with the article but still the judge finds you guilty of contempt because you agree with the story.  At this point I refer you back to my opening paragraph.

repeated.

“I despise what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it”

“Voltaire”

Yes this declaration, attributed to Voltaire, encapsulates that free speech is worth defending vigorously even when you hate what is being said. Our committment to free speech involves protecting the speech you don’t want to hear as well as the speech you don’t want to hear other wise it is not free speech. This principle is at the heart of democracy, a basic human right, and its protection is a mark of a civilised and tolerant society.

Article 19 of the United Nations Universal Declaration of Human Rights and the First amendment to the US Constitution both explicitly recognise the need to protect free expression.

At this point I will copy word for word the fundamental human right of free speech.

Universal Declaration Of  Human Rights.

“Everyone has the right to freedom of opinion and expression; this right includes freedom to hold opinions without interference and to seek, receive and impart information and ideas through any media and regardless of frontiers.

Article 19, Universal Declaration of Human Rights. UN 1948.

When we forget this fathers and let them get away with it, its all over.

Dedicated to my two children whom I miss so much and will never give up on. Even unto death I will fight for their right to see their loving father.

Merry Christmas.

http://www.icustomize.co.uk/

